I'm an engineer, do I really need to take this math subject?

• Thread starter Linu
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineer
In summary, a student at ANU majoring in signal processing or photonics for engineering and physics for science is unsure about taking the subject MATH2320 due to difficulties with proofs in exam situations. They question the usefulness of the subject in their fields and whether it can be picked up later on. The conversation suggests that the subject may be useful in understanding Fourier series, gaining better math skills, and opening doors to other math courses. It may also be beneficial for those pursuing a PhD in signal processing. However, it may not be necessary for all types of engineering.
Linu
Hey everyone, I'm an engineering/science student at ANU majoring in signal processing or photonics for eng and Physics for science.
I'm in a predicament because I cannot decide whether to do this subject:

http://studyat.anu.edu.au/courses/MATH2320;details.html

I have done two first year subjects which basically introduce you to proof although the assessment in exam situations was more or less technique based (I did well in the subjects.)
I am a little hesitant to do the subject as I can write solid proofs when given time to think about and articulate my thoughts, but in exam situations I have a lot of difficulty. It will be even harder to do well since exams will be completely proof based in this subject.

I am wondering exactly how useful this subject will be in my fields? Is this something I can pick up later on? What exactly will it be used for?

Thanks in advance. Hopefully I've done this right, I just joined up :)

Physics news on Phys.org
I am wondering exactly how useful this subject will be in my fields? Is this something I can pick up later on? What exactly will it be used for?