Industrial Event Takt Times (production cycle times) and Probability

In summary, the conversation discusses the distribution of time for an event and how it may not follow a normal distribution. The question of what models would be appropriate for a time distribution is also raised, and it is suggested that a gamma distribution may be suitable. The issue of the mean and most probable time being close but still about a second apart is also mentioned, along with the impact this has on the study. The idea of plotting and posting the distribution is also mentioned.
SSGD
Background:

I am a Mechanical Engineer working as an Industrial Engineer. I have collected some data that is the amount of time that an event took to complete. I first assumed it would be normally distributed, but after plotting a histogram and a normal distribution with the data, I doubt that the set follows a normal distribution. So let's do a little thought experiment.

What is the probability of the event taking from -2 to 0 second? I would say it would be zero.
What is the probability of the event taking taking from negative infinity to zero seconds? I would say it would be zero.

So I think it is save to say that the domain of the distribution is from 0 to infinity.

Question:

What are some models tailored for time distribution? I would say a time distribution should have a domain that goes from 0 to infinity.

Physics news on Phys.org
There are several approaches to this problem, but when the mean is more than a couple standard deviations above zero, there are occasions when the normal distribution still works well even though the values really can only be positive.