Insulin resistance and external insulin

mktsgm
TL;DR Summary
If natural insulin is not working, how come drug induced insulin is working in type 2 diabetes
In your 2 diabetes insulin secretion is present, but it is ineffective. It means that the circulating insulin is unable to push all the glucose into cells. They call it insulin resistance.

But at the same time, if synthetic insulin is injected or insulin-secreting drugs are given, they seem to work.

How come the body's internal insulin is not working effectively but external insulin or drug induced insulin is working?

Are they giving more insulin dosage to do the job?

I am unable to understand the missing link here. Can someone clarify it to me?

Thanks.

Biology news on Phys.org
berkeman said:
I'm no expert in DM or T2DM, but these articles may help you:

T2DM Pathophysiology:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7503727/

T2DM Treatment Options:
https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/type-2-diabetes/diagnosis-treatment/drc-20351199
Thank you for the response. It discusses the pathophysiology and mechanism, but I am afraid they don't answer my questions.

Hyperinsulinemia is normal in type-2 diabetes condition, especially in the early periods. I understand that both hyperinsulinemia and hyperglycemia can exist at the same time in the same person.

So when high amounts of insulin produced by body itself is not effective enough, how externally injected insulin could respond, is my question. Why not body resist this externally injected insulin also?

mktsgm said:
So when high amounts of insulin produced by body itself is not effective enough, how externally injected insulin could respond, is my question
I only skimmed the articles, but I think they were saying that in T2DM the insulin that is produced can be defective in some ways. I'll have to read the articles in more detail...