Is Doubly Special Relativity a Viable Alternative to String Theory?

In summary, the conversation discussed different theories in physics such as string theory and Doubly Special Relativity (DSR). The topic of energy-dependent speed of light in DSR was brought up, but it was clarified that this is not necessarily implied by Loop Quantum Gravity (LQG). The conversation also mentioned ongoing research on testing LQG and its predictions in the cosmic microwave background. The expert suggests referring to Jerzy Kowalski-Glikman's work for a better understanding of DSR. There is confusion and inconsistency in the terminology used in discussing these theories.
QEDick1918
Physics noob here. I've recently been looking up alternatives to string theory (sorry, I'm just not that much of a fan of it) and found "Doubly Special Relativity" - which seems to be a possible waste of time. Is it? And are there any other testable theories out there (besides the Standard Model) that are currently being worked on?

Physics news on Phys.org
DSR has to a considerable extent been ruled out.

A bunch of people have been deriving prediction of detail that can be looked for in the CMB (cosmic microwave background) based on LQG (loop quantum gravity) applied to cosmology.

One of the lead authors is Aurelien Barrau. I can get some links to papers of his.

LQG does not imply DSR's "energy dependent speed of light"---Smolin had some intuitive or handwaving arguments that it might, but others in the LQG community did not buy. And no rigorous connection was ever established, although some people tried for a couple of years.

So attention has shifted away from DSR and more in the direction of cosmology. What effects in the CMB can one look for, as a possible test.

Here are Barrau's papers---you will see some about testing LQG.
http://arxiv.org/find/grp_physics/1/au:+Barrau_A/0/1/0/all/0/1

marcus said:
LQG does not imply DSR's "energy dependent speed of light