Is it a good idea to turn down a top graduate program?

In summary: You can study your ass off and do terrible on a test and the flip can side true, you can barely study and do well on a test. It is to teach you the material and how to apply it, not how to take tests.In summary, the conversation revolved around the individual's concern about not being at the top of the class in prestigious graduate programs and whether they should avoid applying to these programs. The response was that grades become less important in grad school and the focus is on research. It was also suggested to look for schools with professors who
alexmahone
I'm an undergraduate studying math and will be applying to grad school in the future. The top graduate programs are MIT, Harvard, Stanford, Princeton, Berkeley and Chicago. However, I doubt I would be near the top of the class at these places (if I got admitted, that is). This could have a negative impact on my academic performance as I have always been near the top of my class during my undergrad.

I think I would do better academically at a slightly lower ranked place like Michigan, UCLA, Columbia, Yale, NYU (Courant) where I would be closer to the top of the class.

What do you guys think? Should I avoid applying to the top 6 graduate programs?

Last edited:
Mathematics news on Phys.org
In a word, no.

That is not at all the correct thinking about universities my experience. First off, in grad school grades become less important because there is no next step. There's no next level to apply for later so you don't need to be at the "top of your class" for that reason. Even if it were true though you still shouldn't do it for that reason, as #20 at Harvard carries way more weight than #1 at a lower-tier school.