Is My Laptop Causing Memory Issues in COMSOL Multiphysics Simulations?

• Thread starter labd0001
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Comsol
In summary, the user is new to COMSOL Multiphysics and is having trouble with the software while trying to model an eddy current sensor. They are using a 1.5ghz processor and 1.2G ram, and when trying to mesh the plate, a warning pops up stating that it is out of memory. The recommended solution is to resize the mesh and use smaller elements only in the region affected by the surface phenomenon. Other suggestions include using lower order elements, partitioning the model appropriately, and trying different meshing tools. Alternatively, using higher order elements for larger areas may also yield accurate results with fewer degrees of freedom.
labd0001
Hello,

I m a student using COMSOL Multiphysics. I have to admit that I am new to this software but it is giving me loads of problems. I am trying to model an eddy current sensor by modelling the coil and a plate (mild steel). The size of the plate is 17mmx17mmx3mm but I had no problem with the geometry.
The skin depth at 100khz is 0.1mm and therefore the mesh size has to be at least 0.05mm. Unfortunately when I mesh the plate, a warning is popping up stating that it is out of memory. I am using a 1.5ghz processor(intel) and 1.2G ram. do you think that the problem is the laptop?

Any replies are greatly appreciated
thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
The mesh size only has to be small in the vicinity of the surface effect. Meshing the entire part using tiny elements is a waste of memory and WAY overkill. I estimate that if you use 0.05mm elements across the entire part, you'll end up with a mesh of about 7 million elements- far outside the capability of a standard laptop or desktop computer. You'll probably want to keep your model down to 100,000 elements or so to ensure it solves in a reasonable amount of time and doesn't run out of memory.