Is R-Programming Useful for Physicists?

• Thread starter tmbrwlf730
  • Start date
In summary, R-programming is useful for statisticians, and many physics jobs require familiarity with it.
tmbrwlf730
A class over data analysis using R-programming is being offered over the summer at my school. I'm taking statistics right now and find it interesting because sometimes in physics labs we would find things like standard deviation and I didn't really understand what was going on. So to my question, is R-Programming useful to physicist and do they really use it? Thank you.

Technology news on Phys.org
Although I got a PhD in physics, I am now working as a statistician, so from my point of view it is certainly useful to know a statistics language like SAS or R.

Physicists often tend to rely more on homebrewn statistics programs, which has two reasons in my oppinion:
1. The kind of data require for a tailored application (think of particle collider data).
2. R is relatively little known in the physics community.
In principle you can program all kinds of data manipulation in R, including complex data analysis. So point 1 may not be an obstacle.
One big benefit of R is that people have contributed packages for quite specialized purposes which would be difficult to program whithout a strong statistics background.
On the other hand, it offers easy mechanisms for the analysis of simple data and their graphical representation which might be useful already during your studies.

So, yes, R may be very interesting to learn for a physicist.

From a more pragmatic point of view: Many potentially interesting job offers for a (theoretical) physicist (meaning: offers interesting for a physicist, not job offers that explicitly look for physicists) do explicitly mention familiarity R as requirement or sought-for skill. If you already find statistics interesting then I would recommend you to take the class, even if it only is to learn about some possibilities in statistical data analysis.