Is time an illusion? Is it real to everyone? Please help

• Thread starter Teendreams
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary, time is not an illusion and our perception of it can vary, but we use clocks and timing devices to accurately measure it.
Teendreams
First of all, hi there :)

Im sebastian and I really got a big doubt involving time. I recently turned 15 and many questions have popped into my head as I develop through teenage years, but there is this question that I have stuck in my head since I started studying astronomy/physics at 11 yrs old. The question is, Is time an illusion? I mean, me and my cousin did a small but fun experiment, it was obvious but we still wanted to test it out to see how things "really" went. The experiment was to test time when sleeping. I went to bed at 12:00 AM and woke up at 6:00 AM while my cousin stood up all long 6 hours. Except the time I spent to go to sleep (for ex: 15 mins) I felt my time go way faster, somehow like a time warp, I felt the 6 hours like if it was a zapping second. My cousin somehow managed to stay awake and during the long night. For me time was faster as I converted 6 hours into a second or wait... Was it an illusion? THAT is my point. Time felt faster for me but for him it felt just like Earth's gravity placed it since the beggining. Does that mean that you can travel through time during sleep ( I know it sounds dumb ) or that time is an illusion?

Thanks for reading! :)

Physics news on Phys.org
No, time is not an illusion. Our perception of time can change depending on the circumstances, but that's why we've invented clocks and timing devices. We ourselves are very poor at making accurate measurements, so we've had to create things which are very good at making accurate measurements.

Related to Is time an illusion? Is it real to everyone? Please help

1. Is time an illusion?