Java NullPointerException in class using HashMap

• Comp Sci
  • Thread starter Kat3rina
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Class Java
In summary, the student is trying to implement a class ObjectCounter which has to include two methods. The first method has to increase the counter for a given object, and the second method has to get the current number of objects in the map. However, every time the student tries to call the add method, they get an NPE. The student has tried many different things, but none of them have worked. The student is looking for someone who can help them fix the NPE.
Kat3rina
1.Homework Statement +

Homework Equations

Hello,
I really need your help, because I'm a Java newbie and I've got stuck in this Java homework.
I should implement class ObjectCounter, which has to include two methods:

Code:
// increase the counter for given object
public void add(Object o)
// returns the current number of objects, i.e. current value of counter
public int getCount(Object o)

Implemented class ObjectCounter has to use the HashMap and all of it has to be called this way:

Code:
ObjectCounter objectCounter = new ObjectCounter(); 
objectCounter.add("hi"); 
// has to print 1
System.out.println(objectCounter.getCount("hi"));
// has to print 0
System.out.println(objectCounter.getCount("hello")); 
objectCounter.add("hi");
// has to print 2
System.out.println(objectCounter.getCount("hi")); 
objectCounter.add("hello"); 
// has to print 1
System.out.println(objectCounter.getCount("hello"));

The Attempt at a Solution

Code:
public class ObjectCounter {

private HashMap<Integer, Integer> map = new HashMap();

public void add(Object o) {
        int counter = getCount(o);
        if (counter == 0) {
            map.put(o.hashCode(), 1);
        } else {
            map.remove(o.hashCode());
            map.put(o.hashCode(), counter++);
        }
    }

public int getCount(Object o) {
        System.out.println(map.get(o.hashCode()));
        return map.get(o.hashCode());