Ladder operators and matrix elements...

In summary, the conversation is about using ladder operators to simplify the calculation of matrix elements, specifically calculating <u+2|P2|u> and <u+1| X3|u>. The value is 0 for both i and ii when u is different on both sides. The conversation also discusses the use of a and a+ operators, as well as the occupation number operator, [a,a+]=1. The steps to compute expressions such as <u+2|P2|u> are explained, and the only non-zero result is obtained for <u+2|a†a†|u>.
Activeuser
Please I need your help in such problems..
in terms of ladder operators to simplify the calculation of matrix elements... calculate those
i) <u+2|P2|u>
ii) <u+1| X3|u>
If u is different in both sides, then the value is 0? is it right it is 0 fir both i and ii?
when exactly equals 0, please explain slowly, my background is chemistry and not physics..
Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
You'll need to supply a bit more context...

I guess P and X are momentum and position operators respectively? But what is your "u"?

Well, in terms of ladder operators, X= (h/2mw)1/2(a+a+) you can say = constant (a+a+) it is a real
P=i(hwm/2)1/2 (a-a+) or constant (a-a+)
about u and u+1 are functions; some books write them like this and others write PSI or PHI of subscript u and u+1;I couldn't type that way as there is no symbols here.
a+a=n occupation number operator , [a,a+]=1

If needed I can give an example I know..

Activeuser said:
Well, in terms of ladder operators, X= (h/2mw)1/2(a+a+) you can say = constant (a+a+) it is a real
P=i(hwm/2)1/2 (a-a+) or constant (a-a+)
about u and u+1 are functions; some books write them like this and others write PSI or PHI of subscript u and u+1;I couldn't type that way as there is no symbols here.
a+a=n occupation number operator , [a,a+]=1

If needed I can give an example I know..