Learning Topology for Physicists: A Realistic Timeframe?

• Thread starter muppet
  • Start date
In summary: If so, I definitely recommend Sharpe's book too, as it has a lot of exercises and it's a decent overview of the subject.
muppet
I've decided that I seriously need to get some topology under my belt, and I've started to tackle the book by Munkres systematically. I only really hope to cover chapters 1-4 and 9 (executive summary for those not famililar with the book: foundational math/ set theory, topological spaces and continuous maps, connectedness and compactness, countability and separation axioms, and a brief intro to algebraic topology- path homotopies, the fundamental group and covering spaces).

I'm trying to work my way through all the corresponding exercises- something I never did enough of as an undergraduate, and I think particularly necessary as I'm studying alone. I'm slightly concerned however that material that looks like it should be easy is taking me a while; the exercises at the end of section 3 have taken me pretty much the whole afternoon. Can anyone suggest a realistic timeframe for me to attempt to master this material? I both hold unrealistic expectations of how long something will take me and dawdle/lose focus/ daydream in equal measure, so I'm really uncertain as to how quickly I should be able to progress through the text.