Line Current in a 2 phase transformer

In summary, the conversation discusses calculating the line current in a 2 phase 30kVA 415:650 transformer that is being used with a 3 phase source. The speaker explains how to calculate line current for a 3 phase and single phase transformer, but is unsure about the calculation for a 2 phase transformer. They also mention working on this in theory and provide a diagram for reference. The expert suggests that for a 2 phase transformer, the line current can be calculated as KVA/V and clarifies that the transformer is a 2 wire device.
anoor
I am a graduate engineer and have been set a small task to work out the current (primary side) in a 2 phase 30kVA 415:650 transformer. The 2 phases have been utilized from a 3 phase source and are hence 120 degrees out of phase.

I understand had it been a 3 phase 30kVA transformer I could calculate my current by 30kVA / 415 / route*3 = 42A.

If it was a single phase then simply 30kVA / 415 = 73A.

However if I am only using 2 phases from a 3 phase source yet still need to produce 30kVA of power, how do I calculate the line current?

Thanks in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hello Anoor and Welcom :

I think we will need a little more info -- you are describing a 30KVA trans but the Voltage is 415:650? And by 2 phase - is the secondary like an Open delta - or some other arrangement? Best bet is to post a diagram of the nameplate info.

Lastly -It is not clear if you are actually working on this physically? In the USA you would not be a " qualified person" - working on this is extremely dangerous, does your University have a qualified electrician that you can work with?.

I am not working on it physically its just in theory.

Maybe its my poor explanation ill try again!