Linux for student and compilers

In summary, a physics student is wondering if they should learn and run Linux on their Mac, and specifically asks about the recommended version for science students. They also ask for recommendations for Fortran and C++ compilers for Mac. It is suggested that they start with the OS X terminal, as it uses similar commands to Linux. It is also mentioned that a C++ compiler may already be included with OS X, and that a Fortran compiler can be found through Fink or Macports. If they have extra time and resources, they could also install a Linux distribution in a virtual machine using VirtualBox.
LBloom
Hi, I'm a undergrad Physics students (starting junior level mechanics and E&M next semester). I've just taken a course in basic computation, so I know more about using a linux terminal. Currently I use Mac OS X and I was wondering if it was advisable that I run and learn how to use Linux too (using parallels probably). If so, which version would be recommended? I was thinking about Ubuntu since it seems the most basic, but I don't know if its worth the time or if there's something else better suited for science students.

On an unrelated note, does anyone know a good fortran or C++ compiler for a Mac? I don't have the latest one (snow leapord) and my computer doesn't seem to come with one. Are there any compilers anyone can recommend. Thanks

Computer science news on Phys.org
The OS X terminal uses mostly the same commands as a linux shell, so you may want to start there.