Making the Transition from Basic to Advanced Math

• Thread starter someperson05
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Transition
In summary, a freshman in college is struggling to make the transition into advanced mathematics despite excelling in current classes. They are seeking recommendations for resources or strategies to improve their understanding and become more independent in their learning. The advice given is to allow time for the information to connect in their mind and to continue practicing and studying.
someperson05
Making the "Transition"

Hello. I am currently a freshman in college, finishing up my second semester. I am looking at basically majoring in mathematics. (My actual major title will be Applied Mathematics and Computational Science, I am creating a major plan to better suit my needs.) Regardless of that though, I will always be a mathematician at heart.

Let me get to the point. I have been trying my hardest beyond class to study as much mathematics as possible. I've been doing a mini project, taking an extra problem solving seminar class, reading extra books, etc. etc. No matter what I do however, no matter how much I feel like my mathematics skills progress, I can't seem to make the leap into "advanced mathematics." I feel somewhat like Zeno's Paradox, getting ever closer to a higher level of mathematical ability but never actually getting there.

I am acing my multi-variable calculus class, and I will continue to ace all of my classes, I am confident of that. They are easy, just doing the problems seems so simple. I always do well when there is a teacher to explain the concepts. Its when I attempt to learn things on my own, like set theory, proofs, that I can only ever pull out fragments from the text and then feel stuck, left to find another book or ask a teacher. I feel like a true mathematician must eventually be able to deduce things on their own, lest they be left to do little original research.