MAPLE - Simple procedure to test primality

In summary, the conversation discusses a question about a procedure in Maple for testing primality. The person is having trouble with the loop and needs help fixing it. They also mention wanting the function to return true or false, not print it. The solution involves setting a variable and using the "break" function.
dkotschessaa
This is technically a "homework" type question so I just need a bit of help.

I'm just learning maple and writing a very basic procedure. I'm testing primality exhaustively by using the mod function. (Yes, maple has a built in procedure for this, but this is just an exercise).

ISPRIME := proc (n)
local i;
local s;
if n < 2 then return false end if;
if n = 2 then return true end if;
for i from 2 to n do if n mod i = 0 then print (false) else print(true);
end do;
end proc;

I kind of know why this isn't working but I don't know how to fix it. If I find an i such that n mod i is zero, then the number n is not prime - so that's all. Print (false) in that case.

If it is not the case that n mod i = 0 then I want to continue testing all the different i's up to n. (really n-1) if I don't get anything, print (true). But it seems to not be looping the procedure for all the possible i's.

Help/hints appreciated. Thanks.

-Dave K

Physics news on Phys.org
Since this isn't a homework problem, I can just give you the answer.

I would have your "IsPrime" function return true or false and have the calling program do the printing.

You should set a "FoundDivisor" variable to false. Then inside the loop, if the Mod function returns zero, set FoundDivisor to true and "break" from the loop. If you drop through the loop without finding a divisor, "FoundDivisor" will still be false. So then just return not FoundDivisor.

I figured something else out, but thanks for your reply!

Hello Dave K,