Mass and temperature relation in stars

In summary: That's why it's important to check the data against the fitted curve to see that they match.In summary, Google finds the first two numbers in a Greek MSc thesis, but nowhere else. There is a connection between the mass of a star, and its surface temperature, for main-sequence stars, but it is absurd to use a formula that involves 7 decimal places, given that the surface temperature of a main-sequence star will vary by more than 10% over its lifetime, and additional variation comes from other variables like composition and rotation rate. So all the numbers in that formula should be rounded off to 2 decimal places at the most, or it's kind of a silly formula. However, if the eclipsing binary is not
jamespompey2109
Hoping someone can help me here, I'm only a student so I'm sorry if my question is badly worded.

I'm doing my maths dissertation on a binary eclipsing star and I'm trying to work out the mass of one of my stars. I know the B-V value and effective temperature, and I believe the equation I need to be using is
log(M/Msun)=(((-1.744951 X + 30.31681) X - 196.2387) X + 562.6774) X - 604.076, where X=log(T), but I'm not getting anywhere near the required value. I don't understand this equation or where the constants come from in the first place, but it's one that I've been given.

I'll add that I'm observing RT And, and if anyone can help me get to the right values in the next few hours that would be amazing!

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Plot.

If we take the logarithm with base 10 (an odd choice), the lower root corresponds to 5451 K, which roughly matches the surface temperature of Sun.

Google finds the first two numbers in a Greek MSc thesis - and nowhere else.