Mastering Linear Algebra: A Self-Study Guide

In summary, the conversation is about someone wanting to learn Linear Algebra for personal enjoyment and understanding. They are wondering if it is possible to self-teach and if there are any recommended resources. The response is that Linear Algebra is not overly complicated and can be learned through careful reading and practice problems. The suggested resource is Anton's Elementary Linear Algebra.
Shalashaska
Hello, this is my first post here. I hope it's in the right place. I'd like to learn Linear Algebra, on the way to understanding matrices, bra-ket and more. I know this is a difficult thing to do, and I wanted to know if this was something that can be self-taught?

If not, I do have the resources to get tutoring, or audit/take college courses, but some of this seems as though books on the subject could be helpful. I do not plan to become a physicist, or an engineer so this is mostly for my own pleasure and understanding.

Is this an unrealistic goal?

Thanks for any help, and if this has been answered elsewhere, sorry.

Regards

Shalashaska

Physics news on Phys.org
Linear Algebra is not an overly complicated area of math, and if you are willing to put in the time, carefully read the book, and do many practice problems, I'm sure you could have a very grasp on everything important in it.

I think the usual suggestion for an introductory book into Linear Algebra is Anton' Elementary Linear Algebra, because it balances theory and applications fairly well.

jeffasinger said:
Linear Algebra is not an overly complicated area of math, and if you are willing to put in the time, carefully read the book, and do many practice problems, I'm sure you could have a very grasp on everything important in it.

I think the usual suggestion for an introductory book into Linear Algebra is Anton' Elementary Linear Algebra, because it balances theory and applications fairly well.

Thanks very much, I will take a look at that book.