Math & Chemistry: Should I Pursue a 2nd Majors?

• Chemistry
  • Thread starter NM18
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chemistry
In summary, the speaker is a freshman math major who wants to pursue a PhD in math after graduation. They are considering a second major in either physics or chemistry, but have a strong passion for chemistry. They are unsure if a second BS in chemistry would be advantageous, but others assure them that advanced chemistry uses a lot of mathematics and having a second major would be beneficial. There is no reason they can't study both math and chemistry and pursuing a second major would be useful for job prospects.
NM18
I'm a freshman math major and I want to pursue a PhD in math after graduation. I've heard that the job prospects for mathematicians are better if you have a background in another field. So I want to pursue a second major- which I probably would have done anyway because science is awesome! Anyway, I'm considering either physics or chemistry, but I can't decide!

I don't know why, but chemistry is my favorite branch of science. My passion for chemistry makes absolutely no sense. I mean, I LOVE math, and physics is closer to math than chemistry is. I've actually tried to force myself to love physics the way I love chemistry, but I can't. I like physics (and science in general), but for some reason, I can't help but love chemistry almost as much as I do math.

Unfortunately, chemistry isn't that closely related to math compared to physics, computer science, or engineering. Would a second BS in chemistry still be advantageous?

Physics news on Phys.org
Lots of math in advanced chemistry when you get into molecular mechanics, simulations and modeling.

No reason you can't both study math and chemistry. Don't over think it and stop trying to sabotage doing what you love.

Likes CalcNerd
Greg Bernhardt said:
Lots of math in advanced chemistry when you get into molecular mechanics, simulations and modeling.