Mathematica beginner question: Function nesting

In summary, the conversation is about a person who is new to Mathematica and is looking for help in creating a function that combines two existing functions without using copy and paste. They are struggling with the difference between immediate assignment, delayed assignment, and test for equality. They receive helpful advice and are grateful for the quick and thorough assistance.
physicsan
Hello,
I'm quite new to Mathematica and stuck at a point, where I have searched for hours to find a solution, but there seems no way out.

Let's say we have two functions,
f1[x_,y_]=x+y
f2[x_,y_]=x*y

How can a build a function f3, which is e.g. the sum of the other functions f1 and f2, i.e. f3[x_, y_]=x+y+x*y, but without copy&paste, but with direct dependency on f1 and f2?

With f3=f1[x,y]+f2[x,y], the functional dependency on x and y is missing. I need a f3, which also has the same input arguments as f1 and f2 (namely x and y).
With f3[x_,y_]==f1[x,y]+f2[x,y] the functional dependency on the parameters is also not working.

Thanks you for your help,
I'm really desperate :(

Physics news on Phys.org
I think that you don't understand the difference between =(immediate assignment), :=(delayed assignment) and == (test for equality). You want to use := in function assignments so that the assignment is not made until you request evaluation. Try the attached notebook - I think it does what you want.

Attachments

• Functions.nb
    3.8 KB · Views: 443
Hi,

a thousand thanks! This is exactly what I was looking for! Sorry for my dummy question, it really seems so dummy now :s
Thank you again for your profound and amazingly fast help, you really made my day! :)

You're welcome. Glad I could help.