Matlab syntax help using fourier series & vectors

In summary, the conversation is about understanding MATLAB code for the Fourier series approximation of a signal. The code involves a loop and an element-wise operator, which can be used to compute the coefficients and create a new vector with the exponents of the original vector. Overall, the conversation is focused on comprehending the syntax and how the code works.
radiodude
I'm trying to understand some MATLAB code. It's the Fourier series approximation of a signal. This is my first time using matlab, so I guess I'm really trying to comprehend the syntax.

For my example, I am using some code I googled (http://www.ee.nmt.edu/~wedeward/EE341/FA97/example8.html)

Code:
01 N = 11;                            % summation limit (use N odd)
02 wo = pi;                           % fundamental frequency (rad/s)
03 c0 = 0;                            % dc bias
04 t = -3:0.01:3;                     % declare time values
06 yce = c0*ones(size(t));            % initialize yce to c0
08 for n = -N:2:N,                    % loop over series index n
09   cn = 2/(j*n*wo);                 % Fourier Series Coefficient
10   yce = yce + cn*exp(j*n*wo*t);    % Fourier Series computation
11 end

What I don't understand is the yce = yce + ... line (line 10). On that line you have
yce [vector]
cn [scalar]
j [scalar]
n [scalar]
wo [scalar]
t [vector]

So what does
vector = vector + scalar * exp(scalar * scalar * scalar * vector)
really evaluate to in matlab?

Does exp(vector) really mean it creates a new vector with entries:
e^old_vec_entry_for_t0
e^old_vec_entry_for_t1
e^old_vec_entry_for_tn

If so, then it makes sense as then it resolves to
vector = vector + scalar*vector

which is then

vector_running_sum = vector_running_sum + vector_values_for_all_t_from_neg_n_to_pos_n

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org