Matlab: value non-zero but it should

• MATLAB
  • Thread starter Rizlablack
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Matlab Value
In summary, the conversation discusses the reason for getting a non-zero result when calculating the determinant of a matrix in Matlab, even though it should be zero. It is explained that this is due to the limitations of representing numbers in binary on a computer, and that Matlab uses a general algorithm for calculating determinants. The possibility of using matrix decomposition and scaling tricks is also mentioned as a factor in the inexactness of the result.
Rizlablack
Hello everybody!
I'm quite new with Matlab and I'm starting trying some stuff..
well I was trying to input

det(a)

where a=[1,2,3;4,5,6;7,8,9] and this should be zero. And I mean 0.0000
but the result is

6.6613e-16

why?o_O

Physics news on Phys.org
I think it is because not all 10-base numbers can be represented exactly in the computer. You see, the computer works in binary and it has a finite number of bits to represent number, in other words, there is a given resolution between the two closest numbers that the computer can represent...so, when you get a number that cannot be represented exactly, it is going to be given the closest value the machine can represent...so, little by little, you start having an error.

Matlab doesn't have a special-purpose determinant algorithm for 2x2 matrices, another for 3x3 matrices, another for 4x4 matrices, etc. It instead uses a general purpose algorithm that works for any NxN matrix.

Which algorithm?

I can't find Matlab implementation of det, but it definitely is not expansion of minors. That's an O(n!) algorithm. It probably uses some matrix decomposition, most likely LU decomposition:
  • Decompose the matrix as a product of a lower diagonal and upper diagonal matrix (LU decomposition).
  • Compute the product of the diagonals of the decomposed matrices.