Messier 101 (The Pinwheel Galaxy) and SN 2011 fe (PTF 11kly)

• Thread starter IonicOne
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Galaxy
In summary, SN 2011fe is a type 1a supernova that is expected to help refine our use of type 1a supernovae as standard candles.
IonicOne
In reference to M101 and the Type 1a supernova SN 2011 fe.

Distances that I have found for M101 vary from 21 million light-years to 28 mly. The value for the measured redshift of M101 is 0.000804. Will the emissions from the supernova create any changes to the redshift measurement? And if so what would be the explanation for the change?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Since I’m a rank amateur the following may well contain all sorts of errors.

My understanding is that the importance of SN 2011fe is related to the use of type 1a supernovae as standard candles.

1a supernovae are very similar to each other since they are thought to occur when white dwarf stars cross (or as some believe, approach to within 1%) the Chandrasekhar Limit (approx. 1.4 times the mass of our Sun).

To reach this limit matter has to fall onto the white dwarf, probably from a companion star.

Since the limit is fairly consistent at 1.4 solar masses approximately the same amount of fuel is available for roughly the same type of explosion.

There is some variation in the size of the explosion (between 1 and 2 times 1044 Joules), but, if I understand correctly, it appears that the absolute brightness of the explosion can be determined fairly accurately from the length of time it takes for the supernova to decay from its brightest to half of its brightest.

The mechanics are still being worked out, but the differences in brightness are probably mostly determined by the composition of the white dwarf, specifically the mix of Carbon and Oxygen.

So SN 2011fe should help refine our use of type 1a supernovae as standard candles in several ways.