Need help on finding the work done on an Object by the applied force.

In summary, the 50 kg crate is being dragged across a floor by a force of 225 N at an angle of 40° from the horizontal. The crate is dragged a distance of 5.0 m and the frictional force is 60 N.
xuhhad
"A 50 kg crate is being dragged across a floor by a force of 225 N at an angle of 40° from the horizontal. The crate is dragged a distance of 5.0 m and the frictional force is 60 N."

Now from that information i am supposed to find the work done by the applied force on the object.

This is what i have so far. Since W= (F cos θ)Δd, i did W= (225 N cos 40°)5.0 m ≈ 862 N.m
Am i correct

PS this is my first time on physics forum. :)

Physics news on Phys.org
welcome to pf!

hi xuhhad! welcome to pf! :smile:
xuhhad said:
"A 50 kg crate is being dragged across a floor by a force of 225 N at an angle of 40° from the horizontal. The crate is dragged a distance of 5.0 m and the frictional force is 60 N."

Now from that information i am supposed to find the work done by the applied force on the object.

This is what i have so far. Since W= (F cos θ)Δd, i did W= (225 N cos 40°)5.0 m ≈ 862 N.m
Am i correct

yes :smile:

(what is worrying you about that?)

yep - hi xuhhad! welcome to PF!
It can be a bit daunting at first - especially when an answer seems to come too easily. As you learn more you'll be able to develop strategies to figure out if you are right or not without having to ask anyone.

I suppose it next asks for the work done by the frictional force?

Yes it does :/

and again i am stuck sorry for the inconvenience. I really need help.

Last edited:
Funny that :) You have to think it through - what is the definition of work in terms of force? Can you write it in words?

hi xuhhad! :smile:

you seem to have a lack of confidence

but your original answer, using the correct definition of work done, was fine, so just do the friction in exactly the same way, and then that'll be fine too! :biggrin: