Nonlinear Optics Starting Point

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate student studying physics and conducting research on PPLN and nonlinear optics. They have a basic understanding of the math involved but want to learn more about why these materials behave the way they do. They are currently reading "Fundamentals of Nonlinear Optics" and seeking additional resources to better understand the topic.
MMircky
I am currently an undergrad studying physics and am doing research on PPLN and nonlinear optics. I have a basic understanding of the math involved with my research, but would like to know more on nonlinear optics and why these materials behave the way they do. I am currently reading "Fundamentals of Nonlinear Optics" by Peter Powers. I was wondering if there are any resources or textbooks to help better explain this topic.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
MMircky said:
I am currently an undergrad studying physics and am doing research on PPLN and nonlinear optics. I have a basic understanding of the math involved with my research, but would like to know more on nonlinear optics and why these materials behave the way they do. I am currently reading "Fundamentals of Nonlinear Optics" by Peter Powers. I was wondering if there are any resources or textbooks to help better explain this topic.

Thanks

That book seems reasonable enough to start. Chapters 3 and 5 cover what you are interested in. Is there something specific that is not well covered, or is there some other specific deficiency you are trying to remediate?

Related to Nonlinear Optics Starting Point

1. What is Nonlinear Optics?

Nonlinear Optics is the study of the interaction between light and matter in materials that exhibit nonlinear optical properties. This field focuses on the behavior of light in materials that cannot be described by linear optics, which only considers the linear relationship between light and matter.

2. What are some examples of nonlinear optical effects?