On General Measure of Entanglement

In summary, the author suggests that to detect multiparticle entanglement one needs to trace out the outcomes of measurements performed on subsystems of a pure state.
krete
On General Measure of Entanglement

Hi, sirs
My major is computer science. While I currently need to deal with some physical problems. Thank you very much for your help.

It is well-known that Von Neumann entropy is a measure of entanglement for bipartite pure states. However, I think that the effectiveness of this measure depends on the existence of the Schmidt decomposition for bipartite pure states. If we want to measure multipartite entanglement, it seems that the interpretation of Schmidt decomposition can not be expanded directly. Might you kindly tell me some messures on multipartite entanglement? Thanks a lot!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi krete,

As far I know, this is still an open question. When we have multi-particle systems a lot of possibilities to be entangled: for example, one particle with other two particles, two particles with other two particles ... and so on. Although there is some work on systems with three and four particle, it is not an easy task to extrapolate the results to many-particle systems in general.

Dear soarce,
Thank you very much for your kind suggestions.
I have another question. I think that the quantum entanglements and classically statistical dependence is equivalent if measurements have been finished. To be specific, if we repeatedly measure an ensemble of a pure state |psi> = a|00> + b|01> + c|10> + d|11>, where |a|^2+|b|^2+|c|^2+|d|^2=1 and count the events of |00>, |01>, |10> and |11>. We will find the following relation holds:
Pr(ij)=Pr(i)*Pr(j), i,j=0,1, if and only if |psi>=(x0|0>+x1|1>)*(y0|0>+y1|1>) (* stands for tensor product)
It my intuition right? Thanks.

krete said:
Dear soarce,