Optical system & diffraction limit

In summary, aberrations can limit the resolution of an optical system, even if the system is primarily limited by diffraction.
Kamdinsh
can you please let me know if this sentence is true about optical systems or not?
"Diffraction may limit the resolution achivable by an optical system"
Thanks.

Science news on Phys.org
yes ( not just may limit ... it WILL limit)

now had you pasted you question into google, you would come up with dozens of links telling you that and why it happens

Dave

davenn said:
yes ( not just may limit ... it WILL limit)

Does that include systems which are primarily limited by aberrations?

Drakkith said:
Does that include systems which are primarily limited by aberrations?

Im no optics expert :)

good Q ;) maybe, depending on the type of aberration ? take spherical or chromatic aberration ... they effects are mainly seen around the
outer part of the lens/mirror, and it may be quite bad ... I have seen more than one poorly ground telescope mirror over the years ;)
I would expect that maybe for the central part of the optics, resolution is still diffraction limited

The final / fundamental resolution limit is due to diffraction.

Dave

While diffraction limits the maximum possible resolution an optical system may have, I'd say that an optical system can be limited by aberrations and not diffraction if the aberrations are severe enough.