Please help me on my hw problem. i need to submit it by 11pm 04/19/09 (tomorrow)

• Thread starter babyintel
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation is about a homework problem involving calculating the number of atoms in a sample of plumber's solder. The person asking for help is not confident in chemistry and needs to submit the problem online by tomorrow at 11pm. They are advised to calculate the mass of lead and tin in the sample first.
babyintel
hi everyone, i have this homework problem that I'm trying to solve. please help me with this cux I am not good at chem and I'm really stucked and i need to submit this problem online tomorrow ( 04/19/09 by 11pm .thanks a bunch for your help.

How many atoms are present in a 65.0cm^3 sample of plumber's solder, a lead–tin alloy containing 67% Pb by mass and having a density of 9.4 g/cm^3?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

I don't know in which time zone you are (it's now 10:20 am here) but that's not a lot of time you have left.

You could start by calculating how many grams of lead and how many grams of tin you have.

Hello, I am happy to assist you with your homework problem. In order to solve this problem, we will first need to determine the mass of the sample of plumber's solder. We can do this by using the given density of 9.4 g/cm^3 and the volume of 65.0 cm^3 to calculate the mass using the formula: mass = density x volume.

Mass = 9.4 g/cm^3 x 65.0 cm^3
= 611 g

Next, we need to determine the mass of lead (Pb) in the sample. We know that the sample is 67% Pb by mass, so we can calculate the mass of Pb using the following formula:

Mass of Pb = 611 g x 0.67
= 409.37 g

Now, we can use the molar mass of Pb (207.2 g/mol) to calculate the number of moles of Pb present in the sample:

Number of moles of Pb = 409.37 g / 207.2 g/mol
= 1.976 moles

Since there is 1 Pb atom in 1 mole of Pb, we can conclude that there are 1.976 moles x 6.022 x 10^23 atoms/mol = 1.190 x 10^24 Pb atoms in the sample.