Possible to create gravitational fields

In summary, according to this article, Sakharov proposed that gravity is an induced effect caused by fluctuations in the vacuum. He also developed a model that agrees with this hypothesis, and shows that gravitational mass is derived from electromagnetic-ZPF-induced particle motion.
Universe_Man
Do you think that it would eventually be possible to create gravitational fields by manipulating other fundamental forces in the universe? Like, maybe a magnetic field of sufficient strength could resemble a gravitational field?

I apologize if I seem ignorant to something well known, I'm still learning high school physics. I just like to throw random ideas around.

Physics news on Phys.org
A good and interesting question, UM. BTW, welcome to PF, plenty of folks smarter than me hang out here and are capable of better answers than I have to offer. That said, you must suffer through my muddling answer.

Gravity is a unique force in the universe. It was the first to emerge [according to conventional theory], the weakest of the four fundamental forces, and most resistant to being combined with the rest of the 'big four'. See this article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fundamental_force

Universe_Man said:
Do you think that it would eventually be possible to create gravitational fields by manipulating other fundamental forces in the universe? Like, maybe a magnetic field of sufficient strength could resemble a gravitational field?.
Of course, if you could set up a very intense electric field, for example, this field would have an energy density and thus an equivalent mass density that would have a gravitational field associated with it. Good luck.:smile:

Electrical fields come in 2 flavours (+/-) and usually balance each other out with little left over, gravity comes in only one force and so does nothing else (apart from distort time). Maybe the clue is in that if we could manipulate time we could alter gravity.

Tzemach said: