Problem with Dimensional Regularization

In summary, we have a person who is trying to apply dimensional regularization to a divergent integral involving a term with two indices, l_{\mu}l_{\nu}. They are new to this and have a few questions, including how to apply Wicks rotation and whether it would work to rewrite the term in terms of the metric tensor and dimension. They also mention a method for determining integrals using a shift in variables.
baranas
Good day to everyone. I am trying to apply dimensional regularization to divergent integral
[tex] \int\frac{d^{4}l}{\left(2\pi\right)^{4}}\frac{4\, l_{\mu}l_{\nu}}{\left[l^{2}-\triangle+i\epsilon\right]^{3}}.[/tex]
I am very new to these thing. The first question is how should i apply Wicks rotation to the term [tex]l_{\mu}l_{\nu}[/tex]As i understand it should be done before going to d dimensions. I need to avoid substitution [tex]l_{\mu}l_{\nu}\to\frac{1}{4}g_{\mu \nu}l^2[/tex]
Would it work to rewrite
[tex]l_{\mu}l_{\nu}=\frac{g_{\mu \nu}}{g_{\mu \nu}g^{\mu \nu}}g^{\mu \nu}l_{\mu}l_{\nu}[/tex]
Which gives in d dimensions
[tex]\frac{g_{\mu\nu}}{d}l^2[/tex]
I would appreciate any help.

Physics news on Phys.org
The way to usually determine these integrals is to start with the result for

[tex]\int \frac{d^N l}{(l^2 + a^2)^A} = \frac{\Gamma(A-N/2)}{\Gamma(A)} \frac{\pi^{N/2}}{(a^2)^{A-N/2}}[/tex]

shift [itex]l=l'+p[/itex], so that

[tex]\int \frac{d^N l'}{((l')^2 + 2 p\cdot l' + a^2+p^2)^A} = \frac{\Gamma(A-N/2)}{\Gamma(A)} \frac{\pi^{N/2}}{(a^2+p^2)^{A-N/2}}.[/tex]

Now we can generate factors of [itex]l'_\mu[/itex] in the numerator by differentiating with respect to p, setting [itex]p=0[/itex] at the end as needed.

Related to Problem with Dimensional Regularization

What is dimensional regularization?