Progress to recovering from a low GPA is too slow?

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore at a top private university who had a successful high school career but struggled in their first year of college due to poor study habits, social skills, and motivation. They have a 1.57 cumulative GPA and are on academic probation, but have been making progress and are currently meeting the 2.0 GPA minimum. They are concerned about their future prospects for graduate school and are unsure of what else they can do to improve their grades. They are considering retaking classes to replace old grades and gaining research experience.
stefan10
Hello, I'm currently a sophomore at a top private university. In high school I had a 3.9 GPA, and never really had trouble with getting A's. I had top percentile SAT scores, and using this I now attend a private university ranked in the top 30 of the U.S. Unfortunately, my first year adjusting to college was abysmal, and my progress this first semester of my sophomore year was better, but still very bad. I had a 1.57 cumulative GPA (1.39 my first semester, 1.72 my second semester) my first year. This was because of a variety of reasons: poor study skills, poor social skills, varying motivation, etc, etc. It wasn't that I didn't try to do the work, as I'd spend all my time doing work (I don't socialize much), but I had trouble with asking for help and didn't schedule my exams well (I would take two or three on the same day, thinking it would be alright.) Much of this was induced by my high function autism, but I try not to use that as an excuse. This semester, after having my academic probation extend one last time, I started out pretty strong. I was getting A's and B's on my assignments, and A's, B's and C's on the first exams. My mid-semester grades were an A, B, and two C's, with a GPA of 2.8. The second half of the semester turned out quite bad, however. Time management was a struggle, and I couldn't address every class. Furthermore, my fi