Proof of time independence for normalization of wavefunction

In summary, the conversation discusses the steps involved in a mathematical proof that a normalized wavefunction stays normalized as time evolves. The main points of confusion are around taking derivatives inside integrals and setting a second derivative equal to a first derivative. The conversation concludes that the proof relies on the continuity of the function and its derivatives, and the use of the first fundamental theorem of calculus. The reason for having an integration and a partial derivative at the same time is to show how the normalized wave function evolves with time. Some sources are recommended for further understanding of integrating derivatives.
Jimmy87
Hi pf, I am having trouble with understanding some of the steps involved in a mathematical proof that a normalized wavefunction stays normalized as time evolves. I am new to QM and this derivation is in fact from "An introduction to QM" by Griffiths. Here is the proof:
upload_2015-12-30_0-35-9.png
I am fine with most of the maths but I am struggling with a few points:

Equation 21. He refers to this later and says "Ordinarily we need to justify taking a derivative inside an integral, but we can console ourselves with the knowledge that for any wave function for which this is not a valid operation, that function is also not a possible description of a physical state (for one reason or another)".

Why do you need to justify taking a partial derivative inside an integral? Is this not normally a valid operation?

Equation 25. I really don't understand how you can set a second derivative of a function equal to a first derivative? He says further on that the expression in the brackets at the start of equation 25 can be expressed as a single derivative - that doesn't make any sense to me why you can do this?