Proving Bijection Between X and Y: Tips & Examples

• Thread starter estra
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Bijection
In summary, the conversation discusses proving that R ⊂ X x Y is a bijection between sets X and Y, given the conditions R-1R= I: X→X and RR-1=I: Y→Y. The speaker asks for help understanding how to define R-1 without assuming R is a bijection, and others suggest using specific notation and definitions to prove the equality of R-1R and RR-1.
estra
Prove that R ⊂ X x Y is a bijection between the sets X and Y, when R−1R= I: X→X and RR-1=I: Y→Y

Set theory is a quite a new lesson for me. So I am not good at proving different connections, but please give me a little help with what to start and so.. I have read the book and I know what bijection means but just..
I would be very very thankful. Getting a good example proof or just some tips what to do would improve my skills also I hope :)

Thank you in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
How do you define [tex]R^{-1}[/tex] without assuming R is a bijection (and thus has an inverse)?

I only know that if R ⊂ X x Y then R-1 ⊂ Y x X
or: (y,x)[tex]\in[/tex]R-1 [tex]\Leftrightarrow[/tex] (x,y) [tex]\in[/tex] R

But that is undefined for specific y if there is no pair with that y in the second position.

And it is not uniquely defined if there is more than one pair with that y in the second position.

OK. Let's assume that R [tex]\subset[/tex] X x Y is a bijection between X and Y.
Then we also have to have R-1. What is R-1 ⊂ Y x X
when i: X → X then (x,y)[tex]\in[/tex]R has to be written (f(x),x) [tex]\in[/tex] R and x [tex]\in[/tex] X and also (f-1)y,y [tex]\in[/tex] R and x [tex]\in[/tex] X.
but how to show that R-1R=I abd RR-1=I ?
or do we have to write R={(x,x)| x[tex]\in[/tex]R } R-1={(x,x)| x[tex]\in[/tex] R} and
R={(y,y)| y[tex]\in[/tex]R } R-1={(y,y)| y[tex]\in[/tex]R }

please somebody help me here :)
Thank you!

OK. Let's assume that R [tex]\subset[/tex] X x Y is a bijection between X and Y.