Proving x > 0 Implies Natural Number M for Xn > 0

• Thread starter Hodgey8806
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Natural
In summary, the person is asking for help in proving that if the limit of a sequence is a positive number x, then there exists a natural number M such that all terms of the sequence after the Mth term are also positive. They have attempted a solution using an epsilon-neighborhood approach and want to confirm its correctness and improve its presentation. The expert suggests a clearer and more organized way to present the argument.
Hodgey8806

Homework Statement

I'll try to restate it more clearer (I'm sorry I'm not good with using the more mathematical text type.

Prove that if lim (Xn) = x and if x>0, then there exists a natural number M such that Xn > 0 for all n≥M.

Homework Equations

Just to be clear, this limit definition is assumed to be to infinity as per our book for analysis.
(Xn) represents the sequence notation
And Xn will represent my term for a given n.

Scratch work pieces are that I want to choose an ε = x (the limit) at term XM
This would imply that for all n ≥ M, 0<Xn<2x

I would like to approach this using an ε-neighborhood.

The Attempt at a Solution

Assume that the lim(Xn) = x and x > 0.
=> Given any ε>0, |Xn-x| < ε
=> -ε + x < Xn < ε + x
=> There exists a natural number M s.t. 0 < XM < 2x (This is from the scratch work)
=> For all n ≥ M, 0<Xn<2x
=> Xn > 0 for all n ≥ M

I do want to make sure this is right. I realize that it is sloppy currently and I would love to have more help in writing this a bit nicer. It makes sense to me, but it's weird to choose a term that "fits" that epsilon.

Thanks for your help!

Physics news on Phys.org

OK, since your argument is in fact mathematically correct, I will show you how to better present it. My comments will be interspersed in red.

Hodgey8806 said:

The Attempt at a Solution

Assume that the lim(Xn) = x and x > 0.

Start with: Pick ##\epsilon = x##
=> [STRIKE]Given any ε>0, |Xn-x| < ε