• Thread starter chaneth8
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Momentum
chaneth8
Homework Statement
Question About Momentum
Relevant Equations
##\int_{t_\rm{initial}}^{t_\rm{final}} F_\rm{external} \, dt## = ## \Delta## momentum
This isn't exactly a homework question, but it was inspired by a homework problem. It's my first time here, so if there's a better place for this question feel free to point it out.

Let's consider a ball rolling up the following circular slope. Let's assume it rolls up the slope until it reaches the top - afterwards, it rolls back down. Let's consider the change in momentum of the ball in the direction of j.

Screenshot 2024-06-29 at 12.02.19 PM.png

At the time ##t_\rm{initial} ## , when the ball is at the foot of the slope, the ball has velocity 0 in the direction of j - all its velocity is directed in the horizontal direction. At the time ##t_\rm{final} ##, when the ball is at the top of the slope, the ball has velocity 0 in the direction of j too - this is because we're at the point just before the ball rolls back down. This means that the change in momentum between these 2 points in time is 0.

Screenshot 2024-06-29 at 12.06.57 PM.png

However, we also know that the change in momentum between 2 points in time can be given by integrating the external forces acting on the ball in the j-direction. There is always an external force acting on the ball in the direction of j as it climbs up the slope - we've got gravity and the normal force, and the j-components of those 2 don't always cancel out. So the integral ##\int_{t_\rm{initial}}^{t_\rm{final}} F_\rm{external} \, dt## is non-zero

How can this be? We've know in general that ##\int_{t_\rm{initial}}^{t_\rm{final}} F_\rm{external} \, dt## = ## \Delta## momentum but we've shown that in the j-direction,##\int_{t_\rm{initial}}^{t_\rm{final}} F_\rm{external} \, dt## is nonzero, while ## \Delta## momentum is equal to 0.

Physics news on Phys.org
chaneth8 said: