Question Regarding Polar Protic Solvents

• Thread starter delecticious
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Polar
In summary, polar protic solvents have active hydrogen atoms that are involved in hydrogen bonding, with compounds containing -OH, -NH2, -CO2H, and -SH functional groups being protic solvents. While there is a spectrum of grays when it comes to covalent and ionic bond character, hydrogen bonding occurs when a highly electronegative atom has a hydrogen attached to it. While sulfur can also form hydrogen bonds, oxygen is more electronegative and therefore water is a better protic solvent. Any weaker hydrogen bonds are likely prohibited in the presence of O, N, or F. Additionally, carboxylic acid groups have an -OH group and can be considered protic solvents.
delecticious
I'm currently studying for an organic chemistry exam and I came across polar protic solvents. I read that polar protic solvents have active hydrogen atoms that are involved in hydrogen bonding and that compounds with functional groups -OH, -NH2, -CO2H, and -SH are usually protic solvents. Then I went over a concept check question which asked whether H2O or H2S was a better protic solvent. The answer was that H2O was because it will form hydrogen bonds with the solute then it went on to say that only hydrogen atoms bonded to O, N, or F form hydrogen bonds with other atoms, thus what has confused me. If protic solvents are involved in hydrogen bonding and compounds with aforementioned functional groups are protic solvents then if the above statement is true how can compounds with the thiol and carboxylic acid functional groups be considered protic solvents?

Physics news on Phys.org