Question's About the Speed of Light

In summary: The end of the article says;"What the original statement was probably referring to is this: Say two high-speed rockets are traveling directly towards each other, each moving at 0.99c with respect to the earth. If they are initially about 2 lightyears apart (according to our Earth measurements) then they will crash in about one year (again, according to our Earth measurements). But what would the pilot of one rocket measure as the speed of the oncoming rocket with respect to him? Special Relativity tells us that the relative speed of Rocket 2 as measured by Rocket 1 is:v = \frac{0.99c + 0.99c}{1 +
Gecko
ok, I am new to SR and had a couple questions about the speed of light. The first is, i recently read that if 2 beems of light where going towards each other at the speed of light, the distance between them would close only at 1 c instead of 2c. how is it possible that the distance between only closes in at the speed of light? shouldn't it be 2x the speed of light?

the second actually pertains to light traveling faster than 300,000 km/s. there is a site HERE that says that they have recorded light traveling waaaay faster than the speed of light. wouldn't this really screw up SR and GR? also, is this true, or, how would this be worked out in SR and GR?

thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Gecko said:
ok, I am new to SR and had a couple questions about the speed of light. The first is, i recently read that if 2 beems of light where going towards each other at the speed of light, the distance between them would close only at 1 c instead of 2c.

That is incorrect.

how is it possible that the distance between only closes in at the speed of light? shouldn't it be 2x the speed of light?

I should be and is.