Random movement of particles or other things?

In summary, it is possible for particles at the quantum level to exhibit random behavior, which can have an impact on larger systems and events over time. This randomness is responsible for phenomena such as nuclear decay and can potentially affect the movement of particles and the behavior of larger systems. However, the larger the scale of the system, the less significant the influence of quantum randomness becomes.
squeehunter
Bear with me, I am not a scientist. Also, this is NOT a question about free will. I wanted to know if particles ever move in random directions. Since I know there will be an issue of semantics here, I will give some examples:

Two separate universes (when I say universe I mean, "area where stuff happens"), not the technical term). Each universe has two atoms traveling at each other than the same speed/direction. In each universe, when they hit, are they going to bounce off of each other and go the same direction? Or will it be slightly different for each?

Another example:

Two separate universes. Each universe has a single celled organism with a flagellum in some kind of liquid in a glass bubble. Will each universe play out the same way with the life cycle and movement of the organism or will there be something that causes randomness for it to play out differently in each?

In summation, in case particles like atoms don't behave this way, is there anything random in the universe that could cause a change in the way two scenarios play out differently in separate, unconnected experiments?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
squeehunter said:
Bear with me, I am not a scientist. Also, this is NOT a question about free will. I wanted to know if particles ever move in random directions. Since I know there will be an issue of semantics here, I will give some examples: