Recommendations for fluid mechanics textbook

In summary, the textbook used in biomedical engineering is vague and does not provide enough examples or problems to help supplement the learning process. Another book, "Transport Phenomenon" by Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot, can provide more help.
Predator
Hi, I'm an undergrad in biomedical engineering...a required class I'm taking right now is fluid mechanics...this is the textbook we use:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0470262842/?tag=pfamazon01-20

I'll be frank...I think it sucks...too vague, expects you to fill in a lot between the lines. I need some kind of supplemental book to go with it that will explain concepts better/provide better problems. Does anyone have any recommendations? Anyone like the Schaum's outline for fluid mechanics?

Thanks again!

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Really? That is actually a pretty good book, and is nearly ubiquitous when it comes to basic fluid mechanics.

I used that book, its pretty darn good too. Get Anderson's book on Aerodynamics, I think they go well together.

boneh3ad said:
Really? That is actually a pretty good book, and is nearly ubiquitous when it comes to basic fluid mechanics.

Ok for example, the section I'm doing right now is 2.8...(6th edition). I feel like it's pretty vague compared to the problems at the back (I suppose my main complaint is that I wish they had more variety of example problems worked out in the sections)

Well It is only like a 3 page section. There are only so many examples they can give without repeating themselves, especially since that first example covers most of the section (I only have the fifth edition though, so hopefully nothing has changed). What exactly are you having problems with?

boneh3ad said: