Recommended Advanced Undergrad QM Book for Density Matrices and POVM's

In summary, the conversation is about finding a good quantum mechanics book at the advanced undergraduate level that covers density matrices as states and POVM's as measurements. The speaker, an engineering student, is looking for a book that explains the math behind quantum mechanics, similar to Shankar's book. Another person mentions a functional analysis book that covers projection-valued measures but requires prerequisites such as real analysis and Hilbert spaces. The speaker is also interested in learning more about POVM's due to their research in quantum cryptography.
SoleRuler
Does anyone have any good suggestions for a QM book at the advanced undergrad level? I am interested in particular about the QM formulation using density matrices as states and POVM's as measurements.

I am an engineering student, so my math background isn't too strong beyond the basic linear algebra/calculus 1-2-3 courses. No analysis or abstract algebra or anything like that, so I would actually like a QM book that can also explain the math, kind of like Shankar... except Shankar doesn't even cover PVM's as I recall (I might be wrong though).

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't know of any standard quantum mechanics book that explains POVM's and PVM's. I do have a functional analysis book that treats projection-valued measures, but this book assumes prerequisites like real analysis, measure theory, Hilbert spaces, etc.

Where did you hear about them?

http://www.worldscibooks.com/physics/p001.html" is a nice little book that might interest you. Check out the links for the detailed table of contents and the scope of the book (Chapter 1.1). Density matrices are treated in 6.1 and 6.4.4.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the suggestion George, I will check that book out.