REU Opportunities for International Students in Theoretical Physics

jv07cs
I'm a physics undergrad student in Brazil and I'm about to finish my sophmore year. I'm really interested in computational and theoretical physics and I'm currently in the beginning of this year long research project with a professor in my university on the study of the 3+1 spacetime split of field equations in De Donder-Weyl theory.

Here in Brazil I've seen quite a few winter and summer programs in experimental physics, but none in theoretical physics. And I was wondering if you guys have any recommendations of programs I could apply to or some advice on how I could find such opportunities?

I have family that lives in Boulder and would also like to ask if you guys know of any research opportunities there for international undergrads? Or if there's the possibility of like sending and email to a professor there and asking if he could be my advisor for a volunteer summer research project?

Physics news on Phys.org
jv07cs said:
I have family that lives in Boulder and would also like to ask if you guys know of any research opportunities there for international undergrads? Or if there's the possibility of like sending and email to a professor there and asking if he could be my advisor for a volunteer summer research project?
Ask your professors in Brazil whether they know any of the professors in Boulder. A personal introduction and request for help by one of your professors in Brazil would be your best option.

Likes berkeman
REU as a program is very, very, very restrictive when it comes to international programs. The exceptions are cases where the university pitches in its own resources.

If you are counting on someone else to pay for you, the odds are extremely low. There are plenty of US students who cost less and whose background is more certain.

FAQ: REU Opportunities for International Students in Theoretical Physics