Reversing a Black Hole: Can It Be Done?

In summary: Therefore, no force can act against gravity, and no force can be applied to counteract gravity.In summary, a biologist questioned the idea of nothing being able to move faster than light as black holes can effectively pull light into their center. However, gravity does not work through force, but by bending spacetime. Therefore, there is no way to create a counter-force to gravity and accelerate something faster than the speed of light.
spellberg56
Hello, before I state my question I should say that I am a biologist and not a physicist. A thought about the speed of light and black holes crossed my mind however. A black hole's gravitational pull is so great that even light cannot escape it. I was under the impression that nothing can move faster then light yet a black hole can pull with enough force to effectively pull light into its center. If one were to create an equal but opposite pushing force, could that not accelerate something faster then the speed of light?

Thanks

Mike

Astronomy news on Phys.org
spellberg56 said:
Hello, before I state my question I should say that I am a biologist and not a physicist. A thought about the speed of light and black holes crossed my mind however. A black hole's gravitational pull is so great that even light cannot escape it. I was under the impression that nothing can move faster then light yet a black hole can pull with enough force to effectively pull light into its center. If one were to create an equal but opposite pushing force, could that not accelerate something faster then the speed of light?

Thanks

Mike

Black holes - and more generally, gravity - do not pull with a force. More accurately, what they do is bend spacetime. Light follows curved spacetime just like matter does.