Searching through many tables in MySQL

• Thread starter Wrichik Basu
  • Start date
  • Tags
    mysql
In summary, you can filter out routes that go through a certain location by creating a table that has a column for the location and a column for the route's id.
Wrichik Basu
Science Advisor
Insights Author
Gold Member
I have a database of bus routes in MySQL. Each table has three columns: location1, location2 and fare for going from location1 to location2. Consider one table of this database, route_a which goes via region1 → region2→ region3 → region4:

1589058416308.png

and another table, route_b which goes via region5 → region2 → region6 → region4 → region7:

1589059086492.png

So, if I want to go from region2 to region4, I have two bus routes in my database.

Consider the case where my database contains a large number of similar tables. I want to filter out programmatically which routes go through region2 and region4. How can I do this?

I am completely new to MySQL and am open to all suggestions. If there is a better way to format my tables so as to aid this type of search, please suggest so. My ultimate aim is to implement this in an application where the user will enter the starting point and destination, and the program will search through the database for all bus routes covering these two places and display them. Then the user will choose a route and the fare will be displayed.

Technology news on Phys.org
Combine your tables into one table with one more column holding the route ID? Then you can search that easily.

You shouldn't have a table for each route. You have 3 elements (route, location & fare) that can all have their own table. Then you can make other tables (in the case presented, just one) that will link all of these elements together:

SQL:
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `route`
(
    `route_id` INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,
    `name` VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL
);

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `location`
(