Shifting between two Master's Degrees

In summary, a part-time student in the Master of Science in Astronomy course in our country is considering going to a different university to study a Master of Science in Physics (focused in theory). The university where the laboratory is based is the top school in the country, but the student's only concern is that by studying Astronomy, he could raise the chances to study Astrophysics abroad. Advice is given on whether or not to switch to the MS Physics program.
ecastro
I am currently a part-time student in the Master of Science in Astronomy course in our country (I already finished one semester, and I am currently taking the second one). However, my employer (I work at a research laboratory concerning meteorology), has suggested that I take a Master of Science in Physics (focused in theory) at the university where the laboratory is based.

My ultimate goal is to study Astrophysics (get a Ph.D.) that's why I took Astronomy, but the method of teaching in my current school is not that challenging (we observe celestial objects, but not much of the physical processes and theories are being thoroughly discussed). On the other hand, the university I currently work with is the top school in the country. My only concern is that by studying Astronomy, I could raise the chances to study Astrophysics abroad, I just don't know what my chances are if I were to shift to the MS Physics program (I was told that studying Theoretical Physics I could enter any branch of Physics).

Any advice? Thanks in advance.

(I was told that studying Theoretical Physics I could enter any branch of Physics).