Should I Pursue Aerospace Engineering at UofT?

• Thread starter Dublin
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is a first year engineering student who previously worked as an electrician and is now looking to increase their GPA. They have two options for their future career path: continue with electrical engineering, which they have job prospects in due to their previous experience, or pursue their passion for aerospace engineering. They have questions about the field and the possibility of transferring to the University of Toronto after their first year at the University of Alberta. They are also concerned about the cost of living in Toronto and the job prospects in the aerospace industry. They mention not wanting to get a mechanical engineering degree and mention that they are unable to apply to the engineering sciences program.
Dublin
Little background on me first. I am a first year engineer at University of Alberta i got my electrician ticket first before going to UofA so i am 22 at this time.I am married with a son living close to campus with my brother for cheaper rent rates. I am currently sitting on a 3.4 gpa and i am looking to increase that to 3.6 by the end of second semester.

Now i consider myself having 2 options,

First, is to continue into electrical engineering here since i have lots of job prospects due to previous electrical experience and the strength of the economy in the area. To be honest the work and schooling does interest me.

Second, is to do what i would really rather do and what i feel i have a strong passion for. I would like to go into Aerospace engineering but this choice is much more complicated. I have several questions about the field and schooling.
-How hard is it to get into UofT aerospace from UofA after the common first year? Is it possible for me to get accepted?