Should I Take Advanced Electricity and Magnetism for Quantum Computing Research?

In summary, if you are planning to pursue quantum computing, it is recommended that you have a strong background in both quantum physics and electricity and magnetism. These areas are important for understanding the various aspects of quantum computing, such as algorithms, materials, and techniques. While a freshman level course in E&M may not be enough, graduate level courses in both quantum physics and E&M will provide a solid foundation for research and PhD studies in this field. However, advanced knowledge of E&M may not be necessary for theoretical computer scientists, but it is essential for other fields related to quantum computing.
TheRealShah777
I am planning to take go into quantum computing. I am a Computer Engineer with a minor in physics with a focus on modern quantum theory. I was wondering if I take undergraduate and graduate level quantum physics classes would be enough for me to have a solid background on the subject before I do research or phd research. Or should I take Electricity and Magnetism? would E&M be absolutely necessary or just something to know?
I plan on taking undergraduate and graduate level Quantum physics. But should I take undergraduate electricity and magnetism and even graduate level? I plan on taking the graduate level physics classes along my masters in Computer engineering.
Thank you - your friendly neighborhood Persian

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey TheRealShah777.

You should probably get to know the areas before you plan anything.

In quantum computing, there are a number of focus areas like algorithms, materials, techniques [implementation], and solving particular kinds of problems needed to create an actual working quantum computer.

The areas including fields of study varying from computer science to materials science.

Getting this done will be important if you are to pursue this kind of path for study and afterwards.

TheRealShah777 said: