Simulated astrophysics equations

In summary, the equations for simulated astrophysics discussed in the conversation involve basic algebra and trigonometry, with some occasional use of vector algebra. For more precise calculations and understanding of the underlying algorithms, knowledge of calculus and vector math would be useful. Recommended resources for further learning include "Astronomical Algorithms" by Jean Meeus and "Fundamentals of Astrodynamics" by Bate, Mueller, and White.
conure
Simulated "astrophysics" equations

Hi all,

TL;DR - Please tell me what level of mathematics I require for the equations posted at the end

I am a software developer that is eager to improve my knowledge of maths and physics, however the mathematics required for my BSc only went through algebra then onto trigonometry. I don't know any calculus.

I am currently teaching myself from Khan Academy and a few books (both Maths and Physics) because I have 3 months until the next academic year begins for my degree.

In have been playing around with a light simulater called Kerbal Space Program, and in an attempt to improve both my coding, mathematics and physics I would like to build a calculator that runs on my PC (I'll probably get it running on my phone too) for various orbital transfers.

Effectively, I'm going to have to build a program that accepts a number of variables from a user then crunches the equations seen here:

http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/threads/16511-Tutorial-Interplanetary-How-To-Guide

The problem is, my limited knowledge of mathematics/physics means I'm not sure "how advanced" these equations are. Are they calculus, or basic algebra? Is it likely I can tackle them by brushing up on my basic algebra skills?

Please let me know what I need to focus on to understand the maths involved here!

Thanks

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org