Solve Buoyancy and Tension Homework Problem

In summary, the conversation is about calculating the tension in a cable holding a piece of lead submerged in water at sea level at 4*C. The correct formula for the tension is T = -F_b + mg, where F_b is the buoyant force and mg is the weight of the lead. The volume of water displaced by the lead should be equal to the volume of the lead itself. The density of lead is 11300 kg/m^3 and the volume of water at 4*C is 22.4 L. However, randomly putting together data and mathematical operations will not yield a sensible result. To find the weight of the displaced water, the volume and density of the lead are needed. Multiplying the volume and density
twotaileddemon
I'm not very good at fluids.. and I was wondering if someone could check my work if they had time ^^;;
What I did makes a lot of sense to me though.. so usually that's a sure sign that I did it wrong.
Thanks for your time ^^;

Homework Statement

A 10 kg piece of lead is completely submerged in water and suspended from a cable. This takes place at sea level at 4*C. What is the tension in the cable?

Homework Equations

F_b = W_fluid
That is, the force of bouyancy equals the weight of the fluid that the lead is submerged in.
At 4*C water has a density of 1000 kg/m^3.

The Attempt at a Solution

Well.. I know tension is acting on the cable (upward) and the force of the bouyancy is (upward) as well. The weight of the lead is (downward). There should be no acceleration. Therefore:

F = ma = T + F_b - mg
F = 0 = T + F_b - mg
T = -F_b + mg
T = -1000 kg/m^3 + (10 kg)(9.8 m/s^2)
T = -1000 kg/m^3 + 98 kg-m/s^2
T = -902 N
:redface:

Physics news on Phys.org
twotaileddemon said:
F_b = W_fluid
That is, the force of bouyancy equals the weight of the fluid that the lead is submerged in.
At 4*C water has a density of 1000 kg/m^3.