Solving a system of equations .

In summary, the person was trying to solve a 3x3 linear system, but they ran into a problem. They used a simpler method and got the solutions for a, b, and c.
agoogler

Homework Statement

Solve simultaneously:
6(x + y) = 5xy,
21(y + z) = 10yz,
14(z + x) = 9zx

Homework Equations

-

The Attempt at a Solution

Obviously one of the solution is (0,0,0) But I'm more interested in finding the other.
Expanding these three equations , I get -
6x+6y=5xy
21y+21z=10yz
14z+14x=9zx

But what now? I've no experience solving these type of systems . Please give hints.

Physics news on Phys.org
Multiply each equation by the unknown which doesn't appear in it so that the right hand side of each equation is then a multiple of [itex]xyz[/itex]. You can then eliminate [itex]xyz[/itex] in three ways to end up with three linear simultaneous equations for [itex]xy[/itex], [itex]xz[/itex] and [itex]yz[/itex].

Having solved those, use the fact that [itex](xy)(xz)(yz) = (xyz)^2[/itex] to find [itex]x[/itex], [itex]y[/itex] and [itex]z[/itex] up to a sign.

pasmith said:
Multiply each equation by the unknown which doesn't appear in it so that the right hand side of each equation is then a multiple of [itex]xyz[/itex]. You can then eliminate [itex]xyz[/itex] in three ways to end up with three linear simultaneous equations for [itex]xy[/itex], [itex]xz[/itex] and [itex]yz[/itex].

Having solved those, use the fact that [itex](xy)(xz)(yz) = (xyz)^2[/itex] to find [itex]x[/itex], [itex]y[/itex] and [itex]z[/itex] up to a sign.

Even better: if p = xyz, one can express xy, xz and yz as numerical multiples of p (by solving linear equations with p in the right-hand-sides), so---if x, y and z are non-zero---one gets a unique solution for (x,y,z), with no sign ambiguities.

Also: explore what must happen if one of the variables, say x, is zero.

Thanks for the hints , but I used a different method to solve this equation. From eq. 1 I got y=(6x)/(5x-6) .