Solving Buckling Load Problem for Masters Degree Mechanical Engineering Project

In summary, a student is designing a rig for a final project in their Masters Degree in Mechanical Engineering. They are struggling to determine whether the rig should be made of steel or wood, and are having difficulty calculating the buckling load. The rig is a rectangular section with a triangular web on one side, and the student is considering using composite materials such as wood and steel. However, they are limited to using only wood or steel. It is suggested to use ply wood for the main panel and reinforce the anchor points with sheet steel for the best outcome.
Barn-Unit
Hi, I am currently studying for my Masters Degree in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Strathclyde (Glasgow, Scotland) and as part of my final project I have to design a 'rig' with which to conduct experiments on climbing belays.
The problem I am having is in designing the 'rig'. I need to determine whether it would be better made from Steel or Wood but I cannot determine this without first calculating the buckling load. Here in lies the problem.

This is a quick sketch of the part of the rig I am struggling with:

[PLAIN][URL]http://i1103.photobucket.com/albums/g480/Barn-Unit/MountProblem.jpg[/PLAIN][/URL]

What I am trying to figure out is whether it would be better to make it thicker but out of wood, or thinner and out of steel. The forces it will be under are not going to be anywhere near the yeild levels of either material.

ALL help appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Ok, not too sure if the picture is loading correctly...