Solving Recurrence Equations for Algorithm Analysis

In summary, the person is trying to solve a recurrence equation in order to perform algorithm analysis. They got the recurrence from the algorithm they developed and their maths was rusty from years ago. They attempted to solve the equation, but were not able to simplify it further. They need to apply substitution, recursion tree, or master theorem method to finish the equation.
kaalen

Homework Statement

I need to solve a recurrence equation in order to perform algorithm analysis. I got the recurrence from the algorithm I developed. It's been years since I did my undergrad degree and my maths is rusty.

Homework Equations

[itex]T(n)= 1+ \sum_{i=1}^n2(n-i+T(i)) [/itex]

The Attempt at a Solution

This is how far I got:
[itex]T(n)= 1+ \sum_{i=1}^n(2n-2i+2T(i)) [/itex]
[itex]T(n)= 1+ 2\sum_{i=1}^nn-2\sum_{i=1}^ni+2\sum_{i=1}^nT(i) [/itex]
[itex]T(n)= 1+ 2n^2-2\frac{n(n+1)}{2}+2\sum_{i=1}^nT(i) [/itex]
[itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+2\sum_{i=1}^nT(i) [/itex]

I'm not sure what to do with that T(i) in the sum. I tried this:
[itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+2\frac{T(n)(T(n)+1)}{2} [/itex]
[itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+T(n)T(n)+T(n) [/itex]

But what do I do with that T(n)T(n)? Can it be further simplified?
Can I say [itex]T(n)T(n)=T^2(n)[/itex] or [itex]T(n)T(n)=T(n^2)[/itex]

When I'm done simplifying I need to apply substitution, recursion tree or master theorem method to finish it off.

Physics news on Phys.org
Forget your approach [itex]T(n)= 1+ n^2-n+2\frac{T(n)(T(n)+1)}{2}[/itex] That doesn't work!
Instead, rewrite T(n) as
[tex] T(n) = -1 -n^2 + n - 2 \sum_{i=1}^{n-1} T(i)[/tex]
Then start with T(1):
[tex] T(1) = -1 - 1^2 + 1 = -1 [/tex]
Now
[tex] T(2) = -1 - 2^2 + 2 - 2 * ( -1 -1^2 + 1) [/tex]
Now
[tex] T(3) = -1 - 3^2 + 3 - 2 * ( -1 - 2^2 + 2 - 2 * (-1 - 1^2 + 1)) [/tex]
[tex] T(3) = - 1 - 3^2 + 3 + (-2) * (-1 - 2^2 + 2) + (-2)^2 * (-1 - 1^2 + 1) [/tex]